Amul ice cream does not use pig fat in their ice creams!

Consumer Brand Consumer Safety Fact Check False

Amul ice cream uses E-471 emulsifier produced from plant oil, not animal fat. The viral claims are false.

Amul ice cream is a popular choice for both adults and children, particularly during the summer months. However, a video circulating on social media is causing concern. In the video, a person claims that Amul ice cream contains an emulsifier called E-471, which is allegedly made from pig fat. He advises against consuming Amul ice cream, stating that it is not permissible (haram) in Islam.

The viral video is being shared with the following caption- “*Amul is feeding pig fat to the people of the country* Now I am scared of even using Amul milk and everything made from milk. If Amul mixes pig fat in ice cream then it must be mixed in milk also. Boycott Amul milk and Amul ice cream and avoid eating and drinking it. Protect the dignity of yourself and your children, tell others too.”

Facebook Post | Archive Link 

Fact Check 

Our investigation into the E-471 emulsifier began with a Google search, which revealed that E-471 can be produced by directly esterifying glycerol with fatty acids. Also known as mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids, E-471 can be manufactured from plant oils such as soybean or palm oil, as well as animal fats.

Archive Link | Archive Link | Archive Link 

Following our initial search, we visited the Amul website to gather more information. There, we came across a press release issued by Amul, stating that the company is entirely vegetarian. 

In the press release, Amul clarified that they only use E-471 emulsifier made from vegetable oils. It is mentioned that all the ingredients used by Amul such as colors, stabilizers, emulsifiers, additives, enzymes in the cheese are of 100% vegetarian origin. Every Amul product reportedly has a vegetarian logo on the pack, which is a green round shape, as per the orders of India’s food regulator Food Safety and Standards Authority of India (FSSAI). The green dot on the product indicates that the product is 100 percent vegetarian.

Apart from this, in the press release, Amul also mentioned its ice cream as Halal certified and also gave links to its certifications.

What is Halal certification?

Halal certification states that the food or product is acceptable to followers of Islam and that no haram products or processes are used during its manufacturing or processing.

In many Islamic countries, Halal certification is granted by the government. In India, FSSAI (Food Safety and Standards Authority of India) certification can be seen on almost all processed foods, but this authority does not give Halal certification in India. Halal certification is given by several private companies in India that marks food or products as acceptable to followers of Islam. Important Halal certification companies in India are:

1- Halal India Private Limited.

2- Halal Certification Services India Private Limited.

3- Jamiat Ulama-e-Maharashtra- A state unit of Jamiat Ulama-e-Hind.

4- Jamiat Ulama-e-Hind Halal Trust.

We found a clarification on this viral claim on Amul’s X (Twitter) handle. Amul’s Managing Director R.S.Sodhi clarified this through a video. He clearly stated that all the products of Amul are 100 percent vegetarian.

Jamiat Ulama Halal Foundation has certified a company named Lucid Colloids Limited which supplies plant source E471 to Amul. Jamiat Ulama Halal Foundation (JUHF) auditors examined the entire process of Lucid Colloids Limited, from raw materials to finished goods.

Jamiat Ulama Halal Foundation (JUHF) has certified Amul products. Qualified Halal auditors of Jamiat Ulama Halal Foundation (JUHF) have audited the manufacturing process of Amul products, from raw materials to finished goods. After a full and comprehensive audit, they found that Amul uses E471 which is from plant fat.


Fact Crescendo found the claim made along with the viral video to be False. Amul ice cream uses E-471 emulsifier produced from plant oil, not animal fat. Pig fat is not used in Amul ice cream.


Title:Amul ice cream does not use pig fat in their ice creams!

Fact Check By: Drabanti Ghosh 

Result: False